Picture Books (ages 0-5)

 

 

Giraffe and Frog by Zehra Hicks (Two Hoots) £6.99

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

A bold, funny romp with zingy and colourful artwork from the award-winning Zehra Hicks. Giraffe and Frog are going to the beach . . . but where is it, again? Giraffe is convinced of the route and sets off confidently, striding ahead of Frog . . . but when they arrive, Frog knows that's not the beach!

Where's the water? Where's the sand? Can they EVER find the right way? Giraffe and Frog is a hilarious summertime caper that children will love, complete with Zehra Hicks' trademark fresh, fizzing, carefree illustrations.

It will strike a particular chord with anyone who's ever argued with a friend - especially about directions!

 

 

Cyril and Pat by Emily Gravett (Two Hoots) £6.99

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

Cyril and Pat is a very funny, rhyming romp through the park from the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal-winning Emily Gravett, author of Tidy and Meerkat Mail. 'Enormous fun to read aloud.' - Guardian

Cyril is the only squirrel in Lake Park, and he's very lonely. Until one day he meets Pat - Pat the big, grey . . . other squirrel. Cyril and Pat have lots of adventures and fun together and Cyril is so pleased he's made a friend. But everyone says that Cyril and Pat simply cannot be friends, and they soon reveal why: Pat, as the reader has known all along, is actually a RAT! But Cyril's life turns out to be a lot duller and quite a bit scarier without Pat by his side, and in the end the two friends learn that some things are more important than being the same.

 

Younger Readers (ages 5-8)

 

 

Sam Wu is Not afraid of Ghosts by Kevin Tsang, Katie Tsang and Nathan Reed (Egmont)

 

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

When a trip to the Space Museum goes terrifyingly wrong, Sam begins a mission to prove to the school bully, and all of his friends, that he is a fearless space adventurer.

A truly laugh-out-loud, voice-led and madcap story of ghost hunting, snakes and mischievous pet cats called Butterbutt, perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Wilf the Mighty Worrier and Barry Loser, and readers aged six plus.

 

 

 

Trouble on the Farm by Chris Higgins and Emily MacKenzie (Bloomsbury) £4.99

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

Bella is going to visit a farm! Tom and Kizzy have invited her to spend the day at their place.

She'll get to meet the cows, play with Fetch the dog, see the big red tractor and pick raspberries with her new friends.

But at the last minute, someone else comes to the farm too - Magda!

Before she knows it, Bella's visit turns into a tractor-crash involving runaway farm animals, too many pasties, an unexpected wedding and lots and lots of cow poo! With laugh-out-loud funny writing by Chris Higgins and delightful illustrations by the award-winning Emily MacKenzie, this series is perfect for fans of Kes Gray's Daisy books and the classic My Naughty Little Sister.

 

Older Readers (ages 8-12)

 

 

I Swapped My Bother on the Internet by Jo Simmons and Nathan Reed (Bloomsbury) £5.99

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

'I can get a new brother? On the internet?' Jonny muttered. 'Oh sweet mangoes of heaven!' Everyone has dreamed of being able to get rid of their brother or sister at one time or another - but for Jonny, the dream is about to become a reality with SiblingSwap.com!

What could be better than someone awesome to replace Ted, Jonny's obnoxious older brother. But finding the perfect brother isn't easy, as Jonny discovers when Sibling Swap sends him a line of increasingly bizarre replacements: first a merboy, then a brother raised by meerkats, and then the ghost of Henry the Eighth!

What's coming next?! Suddenly old Ted isn't looking so bad. But can Jonny ever get him back? A hilarious tale of wish fulfilment gone wrong that every child will relate to - perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart, My Brother is a Superhero and David Baddiel's The Parent Agency.

 

A Moon Girl Stole My Friend by Rebecca Patterson (Andersen) £6.99

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

It's 2099. Lyla lives in a world of robocats, flying sweets and instant snow, but some things never change.

Little brothers are still annoying, school teachers make you cringe, and, when your best friend deserts you for the new girl, it still HURTS.

Especially when that new girl is from the Moon. But Lyla's problems lead her into unexpected adventures . . .

 

 

 

Young Adult (12+)

 

A Midsummer's Night's Dream by Kate Brown (SelfMadeHero) £8.99

Part of the  Manga Shakespeare series

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

Shakespeare's enduring characters are set adrift in present-day Athens, but a present with a massive difference - an alternative history.

Rigid class systems and 'god given' monarchies of the past have not been lost.

Modern technologies meet ancient tradition; and the citizens of Athens are frustrated by continuing restrictions and hierarchies.

Only the forest, home to the fairies and fey spirits can offer the illicit lovers what they seek.

 

 

Heartstopper Volume 1 by Alice Oseman (Hachette) £10.99

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between - for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

'The queer graphic novel we wished we had at high school.' Gay Times

Charlie and Nick are at the same school, but they've never met ... until one day when they're made to sit together. They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn't think he has a chance.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is more interested in Charlie than either of them realised. Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness.

It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the first volume of Heartstopper, which has now been optioned for television by See-Saw Films.

 

Non Fiction

 

 

Just Joking Dogs (National Geographic Kids) £6.99

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

You'll howl with laughter at the latest Just Joking, all about the most beloved pets around-dogs!

Jam-packed with hilarious jokes, pup-tastic puns, tongue twisters, pooch portraits, funny photography, plus 10 profiles of real-life dog celebrities. Just Joking is a hit with budding comedians and kids who love to laugh. And this next installment in the series is just as doggone hilarious.

With all kinds of pups-from the biggest, laziest Great Danes to the smallest, spunkiest Chihuahuas-this browsable, portable book of fun is sure to have kids sitting, staying, and rolling over laughing.

It's a hilarious party-starter or quiet time entertainer, perfect to read alone or aloud with friends and family.

 

 

The Treehouse Joke Book by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton (Macmillan) £6.99

Buy your copy online with Hive and support Seven Stories

 

Find the perfect silly joke in this collection from Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton, the creators of the internationally bestselling Treehouse series.

Q: How do monkeys make toast? A: They put it under a gorilla!Q: What's grey and powdery?

A: Instant elephant mix!From Bears to Birds, Penguins to Pirates, School to Space, The Treehouse Joke Book is packed full of hilarious jokes and silly one-liners that will make anyone laugh their socks off. The perfect gift for any Treehouse fan, join Andy and Terry as they find the ideal joke for any occasion!