We can't wait to welcome you back to Seven Stories from Sunday 19 July and the fun will continue right through the summer with author events, performances and workshops for all ages. Spaces are always snapped up fast so click on the title of the event to book your tickets today.

The Starlight Goodwill Ambassadors Storytelling Roadshow Sunday 9th August 2.30pm – 3.30pm All the family (recommended for ages 5+) Join in an interactive performance as 26 Taiwanese children bring Taiwanese and Chinese culture, history and local folktales to life through storytelling, body language and simple hand puppets. The children will even be giving away souvenirs straight from their stories and bringing along authentic edibles for the audience to sample. The Starlight Goodwill Ambassadors are part of a cultural exchange from Taiwan and will also be performing at Edinburgh Festival. Free event, booking recommended. Admission fee to the centre applies. Entry to Seven Stories is free after 2pm with an event ticket.  

Seven Stories Turns 10! Saturday 15 & Sunday 16 August 10am – 5pm All the family “Go to Newcastle and visit Seven Stories, see the amazing work that is done there, see their great exhibitions of writing and illustration, see the vibrancy and health of children’s culture. Be amazed by the creativity and inventiveness of their educational programmes.’

David Almond To: You From: Seven Stories Seven Stories is turning 10 years old, can you believe it! We have had a busy year and we would love it if you and your family could join in our birthday party. Help us to celebrate the last 10 years in style with a slice of cake, party games, birthday crafts and storytelling. Join in with birthday crown making and come dressed as your favourite children’s book character for the chance to win prizes all weekend. Free event, no booking required. Admission fee to the centre applies.

Face Painting Saturday 15 & Sunday 16 August  10.30am – 3.30pm Transform yourself into a pirate, a butterfly, a werewolf or maybe even a Gruffalo with our expert facepainters. £2 per child. Entry to the Bookshop is FREE.

*Author Event* Pirate Crunchers and Ghostly Galleons with Jonny Duddle Tuesday 18 August 1pm All the family Yo Ho Ho! Meet Jonny Duddle, author of The Pirate Cruncher, The Pirates Next Door and The Jolley-Rogers series and hear him read from his hilarious stories. Join in with live drawing and help Jonny to draw the perfect pirate in this interactive event. Did you know, Jonny helped design the characters for Aardman’s stop-motion movie The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists! which was released in 2012. Booking essential. £6 per child, includes a copy of The Jolley-Rogers (Cave of Doom OR Ghostly Galleon) one free adult per child. Additional adults £3 each.

Admission charges to the centre apply.

Illustration Master Class with Jonny Duddle Wednesday 19 August 9.30am – 4pm 16+ Jonny Duddle is the illustrator of The Pirate Cruncher, The Pirates Next Door and dinosaur fable, Giganotosaurus. He spends most of his time drawing and busily creating worlds based on his time as a pirate…arrrh! Don’t miss this exclusive opportunity to work alongside Jonny Duddle and find out more about how he began his varied illustration career and the steps of his creative process before developing your own skills. Come along and learn how to use different artistic techniques, inspired by Jonny’s vibrant style, to create your own artwork. Booking essential. £45 per person, no additional admission fee required. Includes lunch. Suitable for ages 15 and over.

How to Draw Animals with Nick Sharratt Saturday 29 August 11am – 12.30pm Ages 8+ Have you always wanted to doodle a dog, create a cat or paint a parrot? Nick Sharratt, best-selling illustrator of You Choose, Hetty Feather and Tracey Beaker is here to show you how. Watch Nick draw and learn how to illustrate your favourite animals in a fun-filled workshop for young artists and animal lovers alike - inspired by Paws and Whiskers by Nick Sharratt and Jacqueline Wilson. Booking essential. £10 per child, includes a copy of Paws and Claws. No additional admission fee require Please note: Children must be dropped off and collected from the event due to limited capacity. Adults are invited to explore Seven Stories or grab a coffee and a snack in our new Bookshop Coffeeshop.

Shark in the Park on a Windy Day with Nick Sharratt Saturday 29 August 2pm All the family Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the park . . . Shark in the Park is a Seven Stories favourite so we were very excited for the release of Shark in the Park on a Windy Day and What the Jackdaw Saw, Nick’s new collaboration with Julia Donaldson. Meet Nick Sharratt and join in with an interactive storytelling with live drawing and the chance to ask Nick questions about what it is like being a best-selling author and illustrator in this fin-tasticly fun event Booking essential. £5 per person in addition to admission fee. Show your ticket in the Bookshop to redeem £5 off any of Nick’s picture books.

FREE Book Signing with Nick Sharratt Saturday 29 August 3.15pm Meet Nick Sharratt and get a copy of your favourite book signed. Maximum of two books per child. Free event, no booking required. Entry to Seven Stories Bookshop is free.

Trolls with Adam Stower Tuesday 1 September 1pm All the family Oliver and his best friend Troll run a cafe in the woods. They make the BEST cakes - their troll customers would much rather eat cakes than children! One particularly busy day in the cafe, Oliver's sister Dolly disappears, so Oliver and Troll set off to find her. Their search takes them up Munch Mountain, where the biggest, meanest and grumpiest troll in the world lives. Oliver doesn't believe all the scary rumours, but Troll's not so sure ... Join Adam (author of Silly Doggy and Naughty Kitty) as he reads Grumbug – the latest tale from Trolliver’s Café, tricks your eyes with a fun guess-the-drawing game, and creates a completely new troll with your help… Booking essential. £7 per child includes a copy of Grumbug and a mini cupcake. One free adult per child. Additional adults £3. Admission to the centre applies. Supported by Templar Publishing  

An Evening with Sarah Crossan and Jenny McLachlan Thursday 17 September 6pm YA and Adult Meet  Sarah Crossan (author of Carnegie shortlisted Weight of Water and Apple and Rain) and Jenny McLachlan(author of Flirty Dancing and Love Bomb) in conversation with their agent Julia Churchill. Hear how teaching has influenced their writing styles, their career routes into becoming YA authors and why having the right agent is so important.  Fans of Sarah and Jenny can ask questions about their work and favourite characters while aspiring authors can find out more about a career in writing for young adults. £5 per person, no additional admission fee required. Show your ticket in the Bookshop to redeem £5 off any of Sarah or Jenny’s back catalogue. Supported by Bloomsbury